A Growing Collection of English Novel Studies for Young Learners from Spanish Countries

josh-applegate-149609

“Mommmmmmmmmmmmmm! Do we have any pancakes?”

Done! These days I’ve been busy uploading novel studies from the Nate the Great series to my Teachers Pay Teachers store (fifteen so far). They are meant to be used with children learning English whose first language is Spanish. (Click on any of the images below to check them out). If you’ve ever visited my blog or store before you’ll know that I’ve had similar products in KoreanJapanese, and Arabic for a while now. The time seemed right to add a Spanish selection, which has probably got you wondering…

¿Hablas español?


Alas, no. Growing up in Canada I spent my school years in French immersion schools, also learning a touch of now forgotten German, and of course fifteen years acquiring Korean. The only Spanish I’ve ever known were the bits and pieces I occasionally picked up from watching Sesame Street and The Three Amigos as a child. Which is why it was so interesting to work on a translation project with two fellow foreign residents originally hailing from Venezuela and Columbia respectfully, also raising families here in South Korea. Spanish is awesome to listen to.

Slide1

Anyway, the booklets are very simple to use and are pretty moderately priced considering their usefulness and longevity. As for their contents, while reading a novel what are you going to want? Well, most teachers are going to need comprehension questions, probably some writing prompts related to the story, some quizzes, and maybe some projects, right? Ok, so these booklets will have you covered there, and then some. They also come with lists of key vocabulary words and their translations, which are also incorporated into the quizzes and final test. (Click here to check out my whole catalog of English novel studies for Spanish speakers.)

Whoa! Is including the students’ L1 really a good use of class time? Shouldn’t the children interpret the meaning of the text on their own? In my opinion, the answer to that question is a qualified yes and no. Obviously, we don’t want the students translating every word of the text. What would be the point of reading in English? But, in my experience, a few select translations can make the difference between a student understanding maybe 50% of the text and having a firm grasp of about 90% of it. It has worked for me. I bet it will help your students as well.

Slide3Slide4Slide5Slide6Slide7Slide8Slide9Slide10
Another reason I insist on providing translations is that some of my cleverest students will look up words at home whether I want them to or not – or maybe their parents will – with mixed results. Confronted with eight possible meanings, they more often than not choose the wrong one, confusing themselves in the process. At least this way I can ensure everyone is on the same page and don’t think duck means pato when it’s actually supposed to mean esquivar.

I’ll be adding new titles every month so come back often and check to see what’s available, or better yet click the green star at my store and get updates by email. I’m also looking for suggestions of new books to read. And if you do try something out and like it, please don’t forget to write a comment or two and earn yourself some TpT credits.

Remember, the first chapter of all my novel studies are available for free. I always want customers to know exactly what they’re getting. No surprises or catches. Anyway, that’s all for now.

Adiós

Slide4Slide5Slide6Slide7Slide8Slide9Slide10

2 thoughts on “A Growing Collection of English Novel Studies for Young Learners from Spanish Countries

Leave a Reply

