Teaching Good Manners Has Never Been So Cool

Genki English Volume 13I had never been so excited to teach the classroom niceties of “I’m sorry” or “Excuse me” as I was the other day. The first track of Genki English Volume 13, the I’m Sorry Song is an electronic extravaganza that would be a huge hit in a dance club were it not for the G-rated lyrics, which are as it happens, as simple as pie:

I’m sorry.
Excuse me.
That’s OK.
No problem.

The real magic is in the dance moves, which you really SHOULD watch on the video below (taken from a Genki English seminar by Richard Graham in Nagoya, Japan) – turn up the speakers before you do, though.

Sweet, isn’t it? Your students will love it as much as mine did. I’m mildly ashamed to admit that I listened to this song on repeat all the way to work on Tuesday. Much more upbeat than Mary Had a Little Lamb.

For the knowing Genki English member there are of course flashcards and students cards which can be put to good use during the explanation and review periods. Click here now to visit the song page at the Genki English homepage.

Leave a Reply

